Edginess

It’s been so hard to get anything done lately but finally I achieved real progress today.  I did paint touch-ups around the house and when telling Charlotte about it I realized I used red, blue, yellow and white.  Gee, I could have been painting a portrait.  In the afternoon I worked in the yard and re-edged the river rock plant bed.  Before and after shots:

Before It’s pretty amazing the difference.  I have an edging spade–I know, crazy, right?–and it has a very flat blade that inserts nicely and creates an edge as you go.  By cutting down into the sod you cut the rhizomes (runners) from the grass in the lawn so that you minimize the lawn-creep into the flower beds.

I still need to do the rest of the edges all over the yard, but this is the place where it’s the most noticeable.  Further down in the lawn I need to transplant lilies of the valley while I re-edge so that job will be a tad more involved.

About lgiletti

What's to say? I cook, I garden, I repair things. I get into trouble sometimes but I get myself out again.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

