Knit one, purl two, pull three

Or maybe I should call it: one step forward, two steps back.

It seems to have started on Friday when I decided to reinstall Windows on my craptop.  The machine was running slow, music was awfully jittery, and so it was time for a reformat and re-install.

After installing Windows I was about half way through the many many patches that Window Update needs, when I noticed that my DVD wasn’t showing up in Windows Explorer anymore.  Insert a DVD, the drive spins but nothing in Windows.  Crap.  I need that DVD drive to work.  I tried several things but no dice, so I re-installed Windows.  MAN that was slow.

You know what’s coming. Second install also lost the DVD player.  Fuck. Okay, so I’ll research more, see what I can do.  Fine.  I always wanted a detour into making-the-DVD-drive-work KnowledgeBase articles over on Microsoft.

I took a break from working on the laptop to sew the insulated panels into the curtains for the very large windows in the kitchen.  As it turns out, when you have such a long run of curtain rod, and you put so much weight on said rods, they bend.  I’m not sure why I didn’t anticipate this but I didn’t.  For now the curtains are draped over a chair to reduce drag while I sort out a Plan B.  While researching DVD issues.

And then it was bedtime for the girls.  They come trooping back downstairs almost right away, proudly showing the plaster flakes from the ceiling of Charlotte’s room.  The cracks, which used to be sort of in the shape of West By God Virginia, had given way and the sky was falling.  DH and I spent quite a bit of time opening the hole to reveal just the lath.  The girls were so excited, isn’t this FUN and EXCITING! They got to stay up extra-late on a school night and were almost completely unsupervised!  Woohoo!!

I checked and YES! I have some not-fire-rated dry wall in the garage.  Thank goodness.  Remember the garage project?  With the fire rated dry wall that weighs far more than you could imagine a piece of 4×8 material ever could? We cut a piece to size and dry fit it into place.  I forgot that ceilings are not as thick as walls, so the 5/8″ dry wall is too thick.  I need to go and get thinner stuff.

Oy my head.

We covered the hole with paper and poster board since I was concerned that it might spook Charlotte, and I went to take a shower.  Ah! Here is the new hook for the shower head, let me install it.

Oh yes.

It installed just fine but when I turned on the water it started to spray out of a completely different join.  Are. you. fucking. kidding. me?

If you want to find me I will be in the back yard drinking wine, and rocking back and forth.  Please bring chocolate.

About lgiletti

What's to say? I cook, I garden, I repair things. I get into trouble sometimes but I get myself out again.
This entry was posted in Bathroom, Home improvement, Work and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

