Saturday, May 12

It’s 6pm and I’m sitting at my desk, clean only up to my elbows and on my face, the rest is dusted with garden soil, sand and whoknowswhat.  I have to take a shower once the kids are in bed but I’ve cleaned what I could at the sink.  I think it took a full 10 minutes to get even this clean.

I’ve been doing a lot of weeding lately, naturally.  This is the year of the bulb.  Each year seems to have a different pest to deal with, this year the onions/scallions/green onions have flourished.  I think it’s because I’ve neglected them in past years, just yanking up the tops but surely leaving the bulbs.  I have another weed that is mostly spears of green, it sometimes flowers with white star-shaped flowers, ah! Star of Bethlehem.  It looks pretty in the photo but it’s a bully.

I’ve found the best way to get the bulbs is to take a trowel and stab down next to the plant and tip up to bring the bulb to the surface.  The scallion/onions are only an inch or two below the surface but the SoB (like the initials?) is quite deep, like 5-6 inches according to the tickmarks on my trowel.  Some are even deeper, the stinkers!

But that’s been in past weeks.  Today was a sort of moving day.  I took some stray hosta plantlings and moved them down by the firepit.  If they survive and grow it will be quite nice.  I also took some lilies of the valley out of the lawn and put them on the other side near where the hammock is set up.  I hope the lilies spread all over, they’ll be a nice ground cover for this deep shade part of the garden, and far better than the weeds we’ve allowed there for the past 6 years.  I’ll put some stepping stones or a stone path of some sort as the area fills up, so that people can get to the hammock without stepping on the plants.

I found an interesting thing.  For years I have been puzzled at to why there is so much sand down by the hammock.  There is just silly amounts of sand.  I was digging to make a place to transfer the LoV and I found I had dirt, then sand, then dirt.  And I had a lot of bricks.  Aha!  once upon a time there was a brick patio or something down there.  I think they pulled out the bricks but left a few behind, enough that I have found maybe 20 bricks broken in two or three pieces.  By absolute dumb luck I move last year’s compost pile to within shovel-tossing distance of this area.  I’ve mixed some compost in with the sand but since the digging turned into more work that I’d planned I only planted one section of Lilies and left the rest for another day.

Adding compost means I actually have more dirt than the holes I dug, which is good because NJ soil is pretty rocky and in all of the holes I dig I pull out a lot of rocks.  I love finding rocks in the soil when I dig, getting them out is, pardon the image, like popping a big pimple, but without the grossness.  I use the rocks all over the yard and was so pleased to find some really big but manageable rocks.  I’m sure most people hate finding rocks in their way!  Thing is, when you remove a rock you have a void, of course, so I’m accustomed to ending with a bit of a loss of volume when digging.  Having more dirt to work with has me rubbing my hands with anticipation.

About lgiletti

What's to say? I cook, I garden, I repair things. I get into trouble sometimes but I get myself out again.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

