Reading

It’s been a bad week for reading.  I think I read something like 5 pages and I’ve been unable to get my books on CD to play through my ipod or itouch.  I’m sure if I sat down and looked into the problem I could sort it out but there you have it, I just haven’t devoted the attention.

Some friends have started a very informal online book club and I’m so impressed with the number of books some people read.  In their defense, they suffer from insomnia.  It must be terrible to have insomnia, me I’m a log just about every night.

I’m beginning to think that maybe the book I’m reading “A Woman of Consequence” is just sucky.  It’s got the quotation, “If Jane Austen had written Miss Marple, she would have invented [the lead character].”  Feh.  On the other hand, I was listening to a podcast from Lapham’s Quarterly with an interview with Peter Ackroyd.  First off, if you are going to talk Agatha Christie characters, a name like Peter Ackroyd really takes first place (wasn’t he in “Why Didn’t They ask Evans?”), secondly, he re-wrote both the Canterbury Tales and Mallory’s La Morte de Arthur, to which I say “iiiinteresting.”  I’ve read many a King Arthur legend and I’ve tried Mallory but, yikes, the language.  And don’t get me started on Canterbury.

That’s just not English anymore.

** Margaret just came in to complain that Charlotte kicked her in the face.  I asked her what she was doing when Charlotte kicked her in the face, knowing full well that the correct answer is “foofing her on the stomach while she hollered ‘no!! stop!!’ ” and so the jury remains adamantly unsympathetic.**

 

About lgiletti

What's to say? I cook, I garden, I repair things. I get into trouble sometimes but I get myself out again.
This entry was posted in Family, Reading. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

