Sayings

Yesterday Charlotte declared we were cold as “ice berks” when we got out of the shower.  She has taken to joining me in the shower in the morning.  While I love to be with her I do feel like it’s my last bit of privacy falling by the wayside.

Margaret was working on her homework and ended her sentence with an “explanation mark”.  Makes sense since a question is something that is asking for an explanation!

I have book club tomorrow night and I have an urge to make something dessert-y.  I’m currently leaning toward making a chocolate cake.  I had a request to make something that, if memory serves, was bread with baked cheese and ranch dressing.  I don’t think I can do that.  Ranch dressing falls into “what is wrong with America” in my mind.  Up there with rampant recidivism and planned obsolescence.

Spring is springing with a vengeance here.  Someone tweeted a photo of a snow-covered street today and I had such trouble wrapping my mind around that.  We’ve had 70+ degree weather for a couple of weeks now.  The forsythia is in full bloom, the daffodils are exuberantly pushing out new blooms every day.  In fact, do you remember back in November when I blogged that I had lots of bulbs and I had to toss them in the ground?  I figured I’d best plant them because then they’d have a chance of growing.  I have 20+ flowers and more on the way!

Cherry trees are in bloom, as are periwinkles, and pachysandra.  Our Japanese Lilac is ready to bloom, I imagine it will burst out in the next day or so.  I’ve seen willow trees with a green haze, and even some trees are in full leaf.  It’s just crazy.

I’m working less indoors and more outside.  I took down the window shrink wrap insulation stuff a while ago, and I’m thinking that I really need to put the screen windows in.  The front door needs the screen instead of the storm door so we don’t get so many flies and mosquitoes!  Yes, we even have bugs.

About lgiletti

What's to say? I cook, I garden, I repair things. I get into trouble sometimes but I get myself out again.
This entry was posted in Family, Gardening and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

