Fever, Day 5

Noooooooooo!!

Charlotte, day five of fever.  It responds to ibuprophen, so thank goodness the drug store had a buy-one-get-one sale.  We saw the pediatrician yesterday.  I actually thought Charlotte was on the mend but I took her in, just in case I was wrong.  I said, “We’re here today because if I’m wrong and I come in tomorrow you’re going to say, ‘what are you thinking, only showing up on day 5 of a fever?’ ”  She laughed and said, “No.”  I think they’ve seen a lot of sick kids and overly worried moms.

The doc said there is just something like this going around.  Fever for many days longer than is normal, no signs of infection, just fever.  She said to wait a day or two and if it doesn’t go away to come back.  So I thought today was our “insurance day” or “rest day” and for sures we’d be at school tomorrow.

A couple of time today I thought Charlotte felt warm but I kissed her forehead and she was actually normal, my hands were just cold.  And then when we were getting ready to get Margaret I felt her, she seemed warm, I kissed her forehead and she seemed warm, I took her temperature, and this is what I found.

Sigh.

At the school one of the moms asked me about C being sick and had she been to the ped.  I said, yes we had.  She said she was talking with another mom (she was suppressing a giggle at this point) and that mom had the same many-day-fever illness and she was looking it up on the internet.  Instead of finding out that she has brain cancer (isn’t that what it usually comes out to be when you google symptoms?  That or kuru.) she decided it was bird flu and that it was weaponitized (my word) in China.  I said I knew nothing about bird flu but depending on symptoms, yeah, there’s a bird flu, if these are its symptoms, yeah, that could be it.  The other mom was all ready to call foul simply on the “bird flu” designation. Apparently the key is that it’s been weaponitized in Russia, or is it China, and it’s all part of an evil plot.

I asked, “um, for what? Coz like if it were weaponitized, wouldn’t we all be dead?”  I mean, bite my tongue because I’d be devastated without my Charlotte but let’s get real, if lots of people were dying on flu in New Jersey–more than the usual, unfortunate and terrible, numbers–it would be front page news.  Remember swine flu?  Remember holding down a shrieking child to get the needle and then having to do it again a few months later?  Oh, maybe that was just me.  Yeah.  Front page news.

So we had a bit of a smirk over that one.  The Mayo clinic has info but it’s sort of choppy.  A concise “I told you so” is over at WebMD:

Technically, H5N1 is a highly pathogenic avian influenza (HPAI) virus. It’s deadly to most, but not all birds. And it’s deadly to humans and to other mammals that catch the virus from birds. Since the first human case in 1997, H5N1 has killed nearly 60% of the people who have been infected.

But unlike human flu bugs, H5N1 bird flu does not spread easily from person to person. The very few cases of human-to-human transmission have been among people with exceptionally close contact, such as a mother who caught the virus while caring for her sick infant.

http://www.webmd.com/cold-and-flu/what-know-about-bird-flu

So at least I could have a completely immature snark at someone else’s expense.

About lgiletti

What's to say? I cook, I garden, I repair things. I get into trouble sometimes but I get myself out again.
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

