Ceiling Paint

In the morethanaweek since I wrote about painting we have some progress to report. The hallway is rockin’ the bright yellow! I replaced the gross “brass-esque” switchplates with standard white ones and I love how they are so bright and clean. I have some touchups to do: there are some places where the yellow paint got on the trim (“you got your chocolate in my peanut butter”) and other places where I had trouble getting a smooth finish with the paintbrush (“you got your peanut butter in my peanut butter”?).

I also have to finish the upstairs hallway. Hallway. Hah! It’s 6′ by 3′. I should call it Rhode Island. I have a single insufficient coat of trim paint and then the walls to complete. It will be nice to have a bit more of that yellow on the walls but that project has been sidelined by …

The Master Bed Room Chaos! Two coats of semi-gloss white on the trim and the fugly color from underneath is still showing through in some places. I can’t paint trim when the kids are home or I risk having white children. I mean, whiter than white children. I mean … oh you know what I mean!

We settled on colors too! I asked a friend to help me and she kindly asked if I was sure that a dark ceiling was what I wanted. When I assured her it was, she asked if perhaps a nice off white or cream might be a better choice for the ceiling, and I said, no I like this option. And when she was kind enough not to call the men in white suits, or even the real estate agents, to ask what I thought I was doing, I figured I was ahead of the game.

The ceiling is a dark sky blue, the walls will be a regular sky blue, the trim whitey white, but the crown molding will be dark royal blue. Hey, it’s just paint. It’s easy enough to change if we don’t like it. Well, easy enough in 2 1/2 hour installments while I have the house to myself.

Today I did two coats of paint on the ceiling. Since the crown molding is the darkest color I will do the ceiling (top down approach), then the walls, and both of these will come onto the crown molding. Then when I paint the crown molding I will have consistent coverage from wall to ceiling.

Since we are still sleeping in the bedroom I had a lot of prep to do before painting. A lot of drop cloths to put out. Somehow, as a result of inept thinking on my part, drop cloths and the full gallon of ceiling paint, and gravity … The opened gallon of ceiling paint fell to the carpeting on its side.

I was so freaked out I didn’t even think to cuss. I said, “oh dear … oh dear …”

I have no idea how I got to be so lucky but somehow the whole gallon of paint, while it had poured out of the can, was all on the drop cloth–evidently it too had slipped to the floor. I rapidly scooped up the drop cloth, being sure to lift the clean edges first, and I wrapped it around and around a few times to keep the paint contained. I *ran* downstairs to the big kitchen garbage can to do further containment.

And then I stopped.

This is very expensive paint, like $40/gallon paint, and I was about to throw it out. I stopped and reversed everything to where I was standing over the nearly empty paint can. I took my utility knife and pierced a hole in the drop cloth and carefully, very carefully, emptied the paint into the can. It was then that I realized how very much paint had fallen, how narrowly I had missed doing some serious damage to our bedroom carpeting, and how lucky I am.

I am so lucky that I had enough paint for two coats on the ceiling, plus a bit left over for touchups. I have to say I have no idea what I did to ever get so lucky but I am so very grateful. And I’m grateful that I don’t have to explain to anyone what a nimrod I was (unless I want to), grateful that we don’t need to pull up the carpet, and supremely grateful that we don’t have to replace the carpet.

About lgiletti

What's to say? I cook, I garden, I repair things. I get into trouble sometimes but I get myself out again.
This entry was posted in Home improvement, Painting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ceiling Paint

  1. Meg says:

    Ay!!

    And you have now scared the bejeebers out of me. You had me convinced I could paint the bathroom myself. I just bought the paint. Now I’m nervous. 😉

  2. MH says:

    I don’t know about that “friend” you mentioned in there;) Can’t wait to see the finished product!

Leave a Reply

