Painting the trim

With the carpeting taped safely out of the way, the next step is painting the trim.  Seriously, what can I say about painting that isn’t patently obvious?  Don’t worry, I won’t let that stop me.  Tools needed for painting:

Paint brush, duh.  Church key.  And why is the sanding block in there since by the time you are painting you should have already sanded any spackle patches?

The sanding block is there because when you are sanding spackle it is really far better than fussing with sheets of sandpaper, far less attaching those sheets to a sanding block.  When you apply spackle it’s a good idea to have it as smooth as you feel you can make it.  Some places are easier than others, some people have better technique than others.  We are not here to criticize.  A smoother application of spackle means less sanding, and less dust to get into your new paint.  If there are big bits that you need to sand down you run a risk that you can damage the spackle you want to keep, but some times it just can’t be helped.

I like this type of paintbrush, where the edge is cut at an angle.  I feel it makes it easier to control where the paint goes.  I also believe it’s better to buy good brushes and use them for years.  They will leave a better finish and be easier to use.  Cheap brushes tend to lose bristles as you paint and leave the bristles in the most obvious of places.  Sponge brushes are okay for small jobs, when you want to just chuck the brush when you are done.  There are also some finishes that recommend using a sponge brush.

The churchkey is a piece of brilliance.  One end opens the paint can.  The other end opens a beer bottle.  Not only do they know you want a beer at the end of the job but that you want the kind that requires an opener.

How pretty is that paint, all swirly and such?  This paint can must have been sitting in my basement for a while, but white semi-gloss paint for trim is a staple as far as I’m concerned.  I know I’ll use it up at some point.  The separation is not a concern, just mix thoroughly, and when you think you might have mixed it all, mix a little more just in case.  In fact, unless you are fresh from the store where they used the agitator machine to mix the paint, I recommend remixing the paint before you use it.  While you are in the paint store grab a few of the paint stirrers (or very large tongue depressors) , one for each can of paint you buy.  They are free!

 

About lgiletti

What's to say? I cook, I garden, I repair things. I get into trouble sometimes but I get myself out again.
This entry was posted in Home improvement, How-To, Painting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

