Xmas prep

On Friday I hosted a party for the teachers and staff plus the board of the pre-school. The other board members brought dishes so of course we had tons too much food. The meringues came out nice and were just starting to get sticky and saggy at party time. They are still in the dining room but really have devolved into a single marshmallow mess.

The people were all so nice and two of my fellow board members were complimenting me on how clean the house was! Well, yeah, that’s coz I spent a few days cleaning up the deep layers of filth that arise when you do practically zero housework for over a month. Plus there was a bit of construction dust that had been tracked in. In a nutshell: not pretty.

I spent the weekend recovering. I napped a few times, I beached on the couch in front of the TV, I cuddled my girls who were foolish enough to get close.

Today I wrapped everything I have already and I’m assessing what needs to be got. I’ve got a new desk for Margaret so I need to have a talk with her that while Charlotte has a greater number of gifts, it’s because M has a big gift. This will certainly not prevent her from having a snulk (sulk/snit) over the issue, to which I’ll say in an offhand manner, “oh I’m sorry, I didn’t know you didn’t like your gifts I can take them back.”

I forgot all about stocking stuffers for the grownups. I got DH some cans of nuts at shoprite so he’s done. I need to decide what lovely gifties Santa wants to give me in my stocking. Maybe something lovely from Williams-Sonoma. I of course flashed on the mental picture of my stocking with a KitchenAid mixer sticking out the top! No no no, I already have one. That would be overkill. Smiler

About lgiletti

What's to say? I cook, I garden, I repair things. I get into trouble sometimes but I get myself out again.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

