Meringues!

In a deviation from the garage project I bring you a cooking post. I am hosting a party on Friday where we have some dietary restrictions. We have one person with celiac, and two others who also avoid gluten (reason unknown), as well as a few people who are lactose intolerant. I’ll confess that I’m just not very good at GF baking but I’m sure part of it is a lack of practice and experience. I feel that my dessert is a stroke of brilliance: meringues! The crowd is all female so I’ve piped them to be really pretty.

I still firmly believe that the safe stuff is gonna be prettier and taste better than the contaminated stuff. Gosh darnit. They are in the oven right now and I’ve got fingers and toes crossed that they come out okay. I’m aware that they may not stay fresh until Friday, but I really needed to do a trial run. Now to decide if I serve them like that, or with macerated strawberries.

About lgiletti

What's to say? I cook, I garden, I repair things. I get into trouble sometimes but I get myself out again.
This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

