Rhymes with Glass

I think I’m going to outlaw glass in my house. Yesterday a glass shelf spontaneously fell in the bathroom. It’s been hanging by a thread and finally just let go. When it broke it fell into three large pieces and then a thousand minuscule glittery pieces. I was trying to get out of the house (of course) and lost the time I planned on using for getting a hot cup of coffee because for some reason I insisted on getting up the kabillion little pieces of glass.

I recently got three dozen Ball jars via Freecycle and was finally loading them into the dishwasher tonight. I managed to drop one in the machine, breaking it, and sending more little bits of glass all over.

Sigh. Thanks to people here on KFA, namely Meg and melkorey, I’ve moved from using paper towels to using cloths. After two massive glass cleanup jobs I’m going to need to buy PT for the first time in about a year. But cleaning up glass shards (and draining bacon) is one of the jobs for which I use disposables. I’d drain bacon on newspaper but we haven’t had a printed newspaper in about 10 years.

Rain today so no progress on caulking or sanding to prepare for painting. We have a cupola over the garage and I polished it a bit. Enough to see where it needs caulking, and that the copper will indeed come up to a nice shine. I also washed a few of the window sills that were particularly dreadful.

It’s raining down pretty hard and there is a place where a branch whacked the house and the gutter needs attention. It’s dropping water off the wrong place and that’s where the ship started taking on water in the basement. I rigged a 5-gallon HD bucket that has a crack in the bottom under the drip. I filled the bottom with rocks (to eliminate a pling! pling! all night long), and under the bottom I poured some sand and then dug a channel for the water to drain away from the house. Ta da!

It will take a few days from when the rain stops until I can get out there and sand and scrape to prepare for paint.

About lgiletti

What's to say? I cook, I garden, I repair things. I get into trouble sometimes but I get myself out again.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

