Halloween Snowstorm, II

As DH and I were settling down to sleep, lying in bed reading our iphones like every other couple does, right? the lights went out. That’s not really a problem considering, but a loss of power means a loss of power to run the heat. Our heat is a forced-fan system and that fan runs on electricity.

In the morning I woke to the total blackness of a power outage. It’s amazing how very many things emit an LED glow. Honestly, just because you CAN whack a light and a clock on everything doesn’t mean you OUGHT to. I put on sweats and warm slippers and went down by the light of my phone. I lit some shabbos candles (way cheaper than the “real” candles, and available in the supermarket too!) and heated some water for coffee. With matches to ignite the gas stove, and a coffee press for making coffee I was well on the way. I also pulled out a small pot to heat milk. Ah, taking me back to my yoot when we didn’t have a microwave.

There was something so beautiful about the blue glow of the ring of gas flames, the golden glow of the candles and the steam rising from the milk and coffee press in the golden light. I emptied and reloaded the dishwasher (see? I’m an optimist!) and in general got ready for my day. M came down after a bit and **** but that girl noticed right away that there were no more vanilla sandwich cookies. Obvious where her priorities are!

DH was up soon and we went outside to work on the many branches that were downed by the storm. Somehow during the night a very large branch fell and clipped the house. It bent a gutter and hit the edge of the roof (mental note, need to investigate how bad this is) and then fell on the ground, missing the air conditioner (thank you!). One section of the fence got knocked down, but it’s the older section that will need replacing soon. We worked our way around the property, in the front just cutting the limbs to approximately 3′ lengths, in the back we broke them up smaller for firewood at the firepit. Once that stuff dries out we have a lot of leafy twigs to burn. We need someone with a chain saw to really cut up the log from that big branch but everything else we can get with the hand saw, even though it’s more work that way.

The power was off all day and I think what with the work in the yard and the lack of heat I got a bit hypothermic. I have a problem with that. I have been dragging about for a few days since then, just like when I get hypothermia. We ended up at SIL’s house–she got power back not long after we lost ours!! and she made the most delicious dinner (chicken cutlets, brown rice and green beans).

Margaret and Charlotte were to share a bed at SIL’s house but M decided she didn’t want to sleep in the same bed as Charlotte because Charlotte wiggles too much. DH and I laughed out loud. It’s Margaret who wiggles and Charlotte who is easy to cuddle, but we set up a nest on the floor for Margaret. After trying it out she says, why don’t we put Charlotte on the floor so we don’t have to worry about her falling out of bed. Sometimes I think she has convinced herself that she believes this stuff she spouts. We of course told her no way and to buck up and go to bed in the floor. If she wanted to sleep in the bed she was welcome to, but we weren’t evicting Charlotte.

And so 24 hours after losing power our house was at about 59 degrees, the four of us had a warm and lighted place to sleep, a good meal in our bellies, and well-needed rest.

About lgiletti

What's to say? I cook, I garden, I repair things. I get into trouble sometimes but I get myself out again.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

